2015 Cheez-it 355 at the Glen Betting Odds

HomeNascar LinesNascar Articles Cheez-it 355

Date: 9 Aug-2015

Location: Watkins Glen International

Heluva Good Sour Cream Deeps 400 Odds NASCAR Betting Online: NASCAR betting fans will get to sink their teeth into another fantastic race when the boys of auto racing head to Michigan Motor Speedway for the Cheez-it 355 at the Glen. The name of this race has changed several times over the course of its existence. It was originally known as the Motor State 500 in 1969, but since that point, the race was shortened to 400 miles. The only exception was in 1974 when it was cut to just 360 miles. Since that point, Miller, K-Mart, Sirius, DHL, 3M, Citizen's Bank, and LifeLock have all sponsored this event. Heluva Good! took over in 2010 for the first time.

Some of the all-time greats in this sport highlight the list of past winners. No one has won more events at Michigan Motor Speedway than the great Cale Yarborough, who took the checkered flag six times, including the inaugural race in 1969. David Pearson was his biggest rival during the first 15 years of this event, winning it four times.

Bill Elliott remains as the only driver to win this event three times in a row, as he pulled off the feat in 1984, 1985, and 1986. Elliott matched Pearson with his fourth victory in the race that was known as the Miller High Life 400.

Bobby Allison, Dale Earnhardt, Davey Allison, Rusty Wallace, and Mark Martin are the only other multiple time winners of this event. Martin became the most recent one to cross the finish line in this race a second time, capturing his second crown in 2009, 11 years after he won the then Miller Lite 400 in 1998.

Save Martin though, there has been a different winner of this race every year since 1996.

This 200 lap race is always one of the favorites of the men on the NASCAR circuit. No matter whether you prefer betting on individual drivers to win or some of the great head to head matchups between the drivers, Bookmaker Sportsbook has all of your NASCAR betting options available to you. Don't miss this year's NASCAR Sprint Cup Series at The Glen!

Watkins Glen International

Law student Cameron Argetsinger dreamed of bringing European style competition to the village where he spent his summer vacations. He drew up a challenging course that encompassed asphalt, cement and dirt roads in and around the village of Watkins Glen.

The dream became reality on Oct. 2, 1948. For five years, the top names in American sports car racing visited the small village and huge crowds came out to watch them race.

Competition moved to a temporary course in 1953, and 2.3-mile permanent circuit was built in 1956. The following year, The Glen hosted its first professional race, a NASCAR Grand National stock car event won by Buck Baker over Fireball Roberts.

The circuit itself was expanded in 1971, as the 1970s brought a wide variety of competition to The Glen, including the Can-Am, Trans-Am, Six Hours, Formula 5000 and CART IndyCar Series. Race winners included many of the top names in international motorsports, including Mark Donohue, Mario Andretti, Jody Scheckter and Bruce McLaren.

Alan Jones' victory in the 1980 United States Grand Prix at Watkins Glen marked the close of an era. Financial difficulties led to the Watkins Glen date being dropped from the Formula One schedule and as a result, the bankrupt track closed following a CART race in 1981. Over the next two years the track fell into disrepair, hosting only a few non-spectator SCCA weekends.

Corning Enterprises, a newly chartered subsidiary of Corning Glass Works, purchased the track in early 1983 and formed a partnership with International Speedway Corporation, forming Watkins Glen International. The Glen reopened on July 7, 1984, with Al Holbert, Derek Bell and Jim Adams winning the inaugural Camel Continental at the renovated facility. On Aug. 9, 1986, fans witnessed Tim Richmond's triumph at the return of the Cup Series.

In 1991, Terry Labonte won the first Nationwide Series race at The Glen, beginning an impressive streak of four wins in six years, including three consecutive wins from 1994 through 1996. His three-year win streak ranks him with other Watkins Glen three-time winners: Formula One ace Graham Hill, sports car drivers Al Holbert and Derek Bell and Cup driver Mark Martin.

The 1992 season saw a major reconfiguration of The Glen's back straightaway. The addition of the Inner Loop increased the length of the long course to 3.4 miles and the short course to 2.45 miles. The new turns enhanced competition while adding quality spectator viewing.

In 1997, International Speedway Corp. became sole owner of the historic road course, exercising a stock option buy-out of Corning Incorporated. The sale completed Corning's mission of rebuilding the race track while revitalizing the Southern Finger Lakes Region.

How to bet on Nascar Cheez-it 355 at The Glen

The odds of a driver to win the Cheez-it 355 at The Glen will generally look something like:

  • Jeff Gordon + 200
  • Mark Martin + 250
  • Jeff Burton + 300
  • Bill Elliott + 700
  • Robby Gordon + 700
  • Field + 500

These betting odds will be lower when betting on a driver to finish in the top three, as the sportsbook must pay off three different winning bets.

A player would have to bet $10 to win $20 that Jeff Gordon will win the Cheez-it 355 at The Glen, while the bettor wagering on Bill Elliott stands to win $70 on their $10 wager.

Another commonly placed bet in NASCAR is head-to-head finish between two drivers. With this bet, a player doesn't really care what place the driver finishes in, as long as the driver finishes higher than the other driver.

A head-to-head betting line for the Cheez-it 355 at The Glen will look something like:

  • Mark Martin - 130 Jeff Burton + 110

In this bet, players wagering on Martin to finish higher than Burton will be asked to risk $13 to win $10, while bettors believing that Burton will finish higher than Martin will bet $10 to win $11.

Those familiar with sports betting will have no trouble making the transition to NASCAR wagering, while those new to the world of sports betting should be able to pick up the concepts of NASCAR betting without too much hassle.

Previous Results

The latest results and betting options on this year's Sprint Cup and Nationwide Series calendar. Join BookMaker Sportsbook and get the best Nationwide Series betting odds on the Web, along with sports betting lines, promotions and prop bets for all major sporting events around the world.

Live Lines




18611 LUCAS DI GRASSI +175
18612 SAM BIRD +500
18614 NICOLAS PROST +150


BookMaker - Sports betting odds, racebook and casino

Copyright © 1997-2015 BookMaker.net™ All Rights Reserved.

  • Connect With Us:

    • FacebookFacebook
    • TwitterTwitter
    • YouTube
  • Sunday, March 29, 2015, 4:52:35 PM